Jefferson City Symphony

Piano Concerto Competition

The the winner of our 2015 piano concerto competition is Michelle Nam. She performed Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op.26 on our season's final concert, May 5, 2015. Ms Nam is pursuing a DMA degree in Piano Performance under the tutelage of Robert Weirich at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance.

Student Service Awards

Every year at the season final concert the Jefferson City Symphony Orchestra presents awards to its deserving high school musicians.

2015 Graduating High School Senior Recognition

The Ruth Morse Wilson Award

This award is presented to a graduating senior who has demonstrated exemplary musicianship and who desires to pursue a university degree in music.

Ruth Morse Wilson was born in Hannibal, Missouri. After moving to Jefferson City in 1953 she was a member of the Morning Music Club, Inspiration Point Fine Arts Colony, Advisory Board of the Missouri Arts Council, Capitol City Council on the Arts, Capitol City Womens' Club, a past Missouri State President and a Life Member of the National Federation of Music Clubs. Mrs. Wilson passed away in April 2001 at the age of 96.

Our 2015 Wilson Award recipient is Logan Richardson.

The Lawrence Woodman - Robert Mansur Senior Student Service Award

This award is presented to a graduating senior who has shown commitment to exemplary service and loyalty to the Orchestra.

It is a collaborative financial award from Lawrence Woodman and Robert Mansur. Lawrence Woodman was a life long participant and supporter of the JCSO, dating to many years prior to WW-II. Until his passing in 1969 he was Robert Mansur's teacher and mentor. Mr. Mansur along with Carl Burkel and other musicians was responsible for rejuvenating the JCSO after WW-II and he served as its first president. He was also the JCSO Principal Flautist for 46 years.

Our 2015 Woodman-Mansur Award recipients are Rowan Bond and Gregory Treiman.